Nursing
This is the "Nursing" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

General information, resources, and events
Last Updated: Mar 16, 2015 URL: http://libguides.nwhc.net/content.php?pid=499649 Print Guide RSS Updates

Nursing Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Homepage

Profile Image
Janie Kaplan
Contact Info
Telephone: 914.666.1259
Fax: 914.666.1940
Send Email
 

Nursing E-Books on Library Portal

Chronic Illness : Impact and Intervention-8th ed. (2013)

Davis" Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests-with Nursing Implications-4th ed. (2011)

Davis' Drug Guide for Nurses-12th ed. (2011)

Delmar's Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests- 2nd ed. (2010)

EKG Plain and Simple-3rd ed. (2012)

Family Practice Guidelines-2nd ed. (2011)

Foundations of Nursing Research-6th ed. (2012)

Fundamentals and Advanced Nursing Skills-3rd ed. (2010)

Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing-Concepts, Process, and Practice-9th ed. (2012)

Sparks & Taylor's Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual-8th ed. (2011)

OLDS' Maternal and Newborn Nursing & Womens's Health Across the Lifespan-9th ed. (2012)

Pediatric Nursing- Caring for Children and Their Families- 3rd ed. (2012)

Access to the Library's online resources

To access the Library's online resources  you must login in with your Athens login and password and go to TDNet Electronic Mananger in the List of Resources. If you need a Athens login and password, please email JKaplan1@nwhc.net

 

 

Essential Nursing Resources

The 26th edition of the ENR- Essential Nursing Resources- is now available on the ICIRN website. You can check such sections as the Evidenced-based Nursing as well as keys  next to each resource indicating access.

 

Check out the website: www.icirn.org

 

Kaiser Health News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Reliable Internet Resources on Herbal Therapies

American Botanical Council (Http://abc.herbalgram.org)  ABC provides reliable up-to-date information about herbs based on modern science and traditional wisdon. Their publications are peer-reviewed and include periodicals, books, safety reviewis, continuing education materials and search online databases.

Center ofr Traditional Medicine (http://www.centerfortraditionalmedicine.org)  Learn about medicinal plants and traditional medicine healers in Vietnam, China, the South Pacific and other countries or regions around the world. You can also access the World Health Organization's monographs on selected medicinal plansts.

ConsumerLab ( http: www.consumerlab.com) Provides independent testing, quality ratings and comparisions of hundreds of vitamins, supplements, and other health products.

Herb Research Foundation (www.herbs.org) A non-profit research organization dedicted to educating the public on the safe, effective use of herbs and other natural products for health promotion and natural healing.

Longwood Herbal Taskforce (www.longwoodherbal.org) This organization provides introductory articles about herbal medicine, in-depth monographs of herbs and supplements, summaries for clinicians, and patient fact sheets.

MedlinePlus (www.medlineplus.gov) Provides monographs on over 100 herbs and supplements. Monogrpahs include evidence-based, peer-reviewed data and selected iillustrations.

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center for Integrative Medicine (www.mskcc.org/cancer-care/integrative-medicine) MSK's write-ups include scientific and common names, summary of clinical usesm sources, purported uses, constituents, mechanisms of action, contraindications, adverse reactions, herb-drug interactions, summaries of the literature, and references. You can download to a mobile app version of the herbal database.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (http://nccih.nih.gov) Formerly the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, the NCCIH is the federal government's leading agency for scientific research on complementary and integrative therapies.

Natural Medicine (https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com) Previously two separate databases,: Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive databases, Natural Medicines offer evidenced-based information about herbs, dietary supplements, alternative medicines, vitamins and mineral supplements. Each substance is given a grade which reflects the level of available scientific data for against its use to treat a specific medical condition.

Nutrition.gov (http://www.nutrition.gov) Provides fact sheets on botanicals and herbals which review functions, food sources, and recommendations on how to take them. Background information on botanicals is also provided and includes definitions, regulations,claims,labeling, health benefits, and safety.

This list is courtesy of HealthNet News,WInter, 2014-2015, UCONN Health Library.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Library Hours

 

Weekly  Schedule:

Monday & Tuesday,  9:30-5:30pm

Wednesday or Thursday -9:30-5:00 (by email only)

Please call , email, or check hours posted at Library door  since there could be a variation in the schedule.

Email is always the best way to reach the Librarian at all times.

 

Library Services

The Library offers access to clinical and general health information.

There are two public workstations available for use within the library.

Services can be requested either through email, phone, or in-person.

  • Personalized literature searches 
  • Document Delivery: the librarian will borrow for you from a network of medical libraries throughout the US and Canada
  • Lonesome Doc: Are you working outside of the hospital? Reading and researching from home? Register for a lonesome doc account to email requests directly to your NWH library; the librarian retrieves these requests & will send them back to you
  • LibGuides: a new service which will provide specific web links and bibliographic resources in subject areas

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip